Open Tennis Court Rates
  | By Long Island Tennis Magazine Staff

Six current or former world number one-ranked players from the United States, including Serena Williams, Venus Williams, Bob and Mike Bryan, Lindsay Davenport, and John McEnroe, were among the names drafted by the eight franchises in the World TeamTennis (WTT) Pro League presented by GEICO. Other top names selected in the 2012 WTT Draft include the top-ranked American on the ATP Tour, Mardy Fish, along with Martina Hingis, James Blake, Mark Philippoussis and John Isner who stunned the tennis world with a dominating win recently over the world’s number three-ranked player, Switzerland’s Roger Federer in Davis Cup action.

The WTT Pro League, presented by GEICO, was co-founded by Billie Jean King, and begins Monday, July 9 and runs through Sunday, July 29. The top two teams from both the Western and Eastern Conferences advance to the WTT Finals Weekend, presented by GEICO, Sept. 14-16, at the Family Circle Tennis Center in Charleston, S.C.

Two former world number ones in both singles and doubles return to the New York Sportimes. John McEnroe and Martina Hingis will return to the Sportimes at their home venue in Randall's Island, also home to the John McEnroe Tennis Academy. The Sportimes will play five home matches at Sportime Stadium at Randall’s Island in New York City, and will bring two of their home matches to the SEFCU Arena in Albany, N.Y., during the WTT season this July. One of the matches in Albany will feature John Isner and his Boston Lobsters, while the other match will see Hingis face off with Venus Williams and the Washington Kastles.

Two-time League MVP Lindsay Davenport returns to the WTT courts for the first time this summer since the birth of her third child in January. Davenport, an Olympic gold medalist and three-time Grand Slam singles champion, will head up the Orange County Breakers team.

"I am excited to be back in Orange County, and it will be great for my kids to get to see me play," said Davenport. "I have always loved playing on a team, so I am looking forward to getting back on the court."

The Philadelphia Freedoms selected former world number eight-ranked Mark Philippoussis with their first round selection. The popular Australian originally played for the Freedoms in 2002. He will be joined on the Freedoms squad by former world number four-ranked American James Blake. The 2012 season will mark Blake's seventh WTT season and his first with the Freedoms.

The Washington Kastles will try to build on their undefeated 2011 championship season with the all-American lineup of Serena Williams and Venus Williams.

The Boston Lobsters are bringing back one of the hottest ATP stars in the towering John Isner, who defeated Federer and led the U.S. Davis Cup team to a stunning 5-0 win over Switzerland in early February.
The Sacramento Capitals will build their 2012 squad around America's top-ranked male player, Mardy Fish. Currently ranked eighth on the ATP Tour in singles, Fish was also a major part of the U.S. Davis Cup team that dominated the Federer-led Switzerland team in early February.

Dates for the marquee player appearances will be announced when the 2012 WTT League Schedule is released. Team lineups will be finalized at the WTT Roster Draft on March 13. Marquee players typically play a limited schedule, while roster players play the full season. Additional marquee players could be added prior to the start of the season.

2012 WTT Pro League Marquee Player Draft Selections (in draft order)
1. Philadelphia Freedoms: Mark Philippoussis (first round draft selection), James Blake (second round draft selection)

2. Springfield Lasers: no selection

3. Orange County Breakers: Lindsay Davenport (first round draft selection)

4. New York Sportimes: John McEnroe (first round protection), Martina Hingis (third round protection)

5. Kansas City Explorers: Bob and Mike Bryan (first round protection)

6. Boston Lobsters: John Isner (second round protection)

7. Sacramento Capitals: Mardy Fish (first round protection)

8. Washington Kastles: Serena Williams (first round protection), Venus Williams (second round protection)