John McEnroe Tennis Academy
  | By Long Island Tennis Magazine Staff

The USTA has announced that world number one-ranked Rafael Nadal of Spain, the reigning French Open and Wimbledon champion, will be the top seed at the 2010 U.S. Open in men’s singles. The 2010 U.S. Open will be played at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y., Aug. 30-Sept. 12. The women’s seeds will be announced upon completion of the Rogers Cup in Montreal.

Nadal, an eight-time Grand Slam champion who is seeking his first U.S. Open title, is the number one seed at the U.S. Open for the second time in three years. He will be followed by number two-ranked Roger Federer of Switzerland, a five-time U.S. Open Champion; number three Novak Djokovic of Serbia, the 2008 Australian Open champion (and 2007 U.S. Open runner-up); and number four-seeded Andy Murray of Great Britain, the 2008 U.S. Open runner-up.

After missing much of 2009 with injuries and being unable to defend his 2008 French Open and Wimbledon titles, Nadal has won five titles this year including his fifth French Open and second Wimbledon titles. Nadal will be seeking his first ever U.S. Open title, which would make him just the seventh man to complete the career Grand Slam. Nadal has reached the U.S. Open semifinals in each of the last two years.

For 2010, the U.S. Open followed the ATP World Tour rankings to determine the men’s singles seeds. This is the ninth consecutive year that the US Open has seeded 32 players in both singles events. The singles draws for the 2010 U.S. Open will be revealed live on the U.S. Open Draw Announcement Special on ESPN2, Thursday, Aug. 26 at noon ET. Chris McKendry will host the one-hour show from Bristol, Conn., along with U.S. Fed Cup Captain Mary Joe Fernandez and Brad Gilbert. U.S. Davis Cup Captain Patrick McEnroe will lead the on-site coverage from the Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y.

2010 US Open Men’s Singles Seeds
1. Rafael Nadal, Spain
2. Roger Federer, Switzerland
3. Novak Djokovic, Serbia
4. Andy Murray, Great Britain
5. Robin Soderling, Sweden
6. Nikolay Davydenko, Russia
7. Tomas Berdych, Czech Republic
8. Fernando Verdasco, Spain
9. Andy Roddick, United States
10. David Ferrer, Spain
11. Marin Cilic, Croatia
12. Mikhail Youzhny, Russia
13. Jurgen Melzer, Austria
14. Nicolas Almagro, Spain
15. Ivan Ljubicic, Croatia
16. Marcos Baghdatis, Cyprus
17. Gael Monfils, France
18. John Isner, United States
19. Mardy Fish, United States
20. Sam Querrey, United States
21. Albert Montanes, Spain
22. Juan Carlos Ferrero, Spain
23. Feliciano Lopez, Spain
24. Ernests Gulbis, Latvia
25. Stanislas Wawrinka, Switzerland
26. Thomaz Bellucci, Brazil
27. Fernando Gonzalez, Chile
28. Radek Stepanek, Czech Republic
29. Philipp Kohlschreiber, Germany
30. Juan Monaco, Argentina
31. David Nalbandian, Argentina
32. Lleyton Hewitt, Australia

For more information, visit