| By Long Island Tennis Magazine Staff
Brad Shafran and Justin Laible took home the "A" Division title at the Susan Alvy Memorial Tournament.
Photos courtesy of Carefree Racquet Club


Every year during the winter break, Carefree Racquet Club hosts the Susan Alvy Memorial Men’s Doubles tournament, and did so once again in 2018.

Held in honor of Susan Alvy, the former manager of Rockville Racquet who served on the USTA Long Island League Committee and was one of Long Island’s best tennis advocates.

“We at Carefree are happy to continue the running of a tournament Susan ran for years and to keep her name alive in the tennis community,” said Carefree’s General Manager Kathy Miller.

The tournament is broken up into two divisions, the “A” division for 4.5-5.0 players, and the “B” division is for 3.5-4.0 players.

All proceeds from the tournament were donated to the American Cancer Society in Alvy’s name.

“A” Division: Brad Shafran/Justin Laible defeated Casey Schnabel/Chris Chan

“B” Division: Brian Connor/Chris Wolfe defeated Gary Simeone/Doug Pierno

"A" Division Finalists Casey Schnabel and Chris Chan


"B" Division Winners Brian Connor and Chris Wolfe


"B" Division Finalists Gary Simeone and Doug Pierno