| By Long Island Tennis Magazine Staff
Photo Credit: USTA/Mike Lawrence


The ATP World Tour announced that Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer and Jurgen Melzer have been elected to the Player Council. The three players will be replacing the roles left by Robin Haase, Jamie Murray and Sergiy Stakhovsky, who resigned prior to Wimbledon.

The next Player Council meeting is slated to be held in New York just prior to the start of the US Open. The current council is now made up of:

1-50 Singles: Kevin Anderson (Vice President), John Isner, Rafael Nadal, Sam Querrey

51-100 Singles: Yen-Hsun Lu, Vasek Pospisil

1-100 Doubles: Jurgen Melzer, Bruno Soares

At Large: Novak Djokovic (President), Roger Federer

Alumni: Colin Dowdeswell

Coach: TBD