| By Press Release


World TeamTennis’ 44th season has been whittled down to four semifinalists competing in the 2019 WTT Playoffs, held for the first time in Las Vegas at the Orleans Arena with the semifinals taking place on Friday, with the WTT Final to follow on Saturday.

The teams vying to hoist the King Trophy – the iconic moment symbolic of winning the World TeamTennis championship – include the regular season champion Philadelphia Freedoms, two of the league’s past three champions – the 2018 WTT champion Springfield (Mo.) Lasers and 2016 WTT champion San Diego Aviators – and the New York Empire, making its first ever appearance in the WTT Playoffs. These teams finished in the top four (of eight teams) in WTT’s regular season standings.

The entire WTT Finals Weekend will air live and exclusively on CBS Sports Network, with Friday’s WTT semifinals taking place at 4 p.m. PT (local time) and 7 p.m. PT and Saturday’s WTT Final airing at 7 p.m. PT. Jason Knapp and analyst Sam Groth will call the WTT Playoffs action, with Olivia Dekker and Nick Gismondi serving as sideline reporters, and guest analyst Katrina Adams and lifestyle reporter Shaun T also contributing to the telecasts.

Below is a breakdown of World TeamTennis’ semifinal matchups and playoff schedule:

WTT Semifinal No. 1 – Friday, Aug. 2 at Orleans Arena, Las Vegas – 7 p.m. EST (CBS Sports Network)

Springfield (Mo.) Lasers vs. San Diego Aviators

Records: Springfield (9-5; No. 2 seed); San Diego (9-5, No. 3 seed)

2019 Head-to-Head:      

July 21 (at San Diego) – San Diego def. Springfield, 24

July 24 (at Springfield) – Springfield def. San Diego, 22-17

Springfield Roster 

Anna Blinkova                                Russia                                             

Olga Govortsova                           Belarus                                           

Robert Lindstedt                            Sweden                                          

Enrique Lopez Perez                     Spain                                               

Abigail Spears                                USA                                                 

Coach: John-Laffnie de Jager (South Africa)

San Diego Roster:                                     

Anna-Lena Groenefeld                 Germany                                        

Jonny O’Mara                                England                                          

Arina Rodionova                           Australia                                         

James Ward                                   England 

Coach: John Lloyd (England)

WTT Semifinal No. 2: Friday, Aug. 2 at Orleans Arena, Las Vegas – 10:00 p.m. EST (CBS Sports Network)

Philadelphia Freedoms vs. New York Empire

Records: Philadelphia (11-3; regular season champion and No. 1 seed); New York (8-6; No. 4 seed)

2019 Head-to-Head:      

July 30 (at New York) -- Philadelphia def. New York, 25-1

July 31 (at Philadelphia) – New York def. Philadelphia, 21-16

Philadelphia Roster:                                  

Raquel Atawo                                USA                                                 

Fabrice Martin                               France                                             

Mitchell Krueger                            USA                                                 

Taylor Townsend                          USA 

Coach: Craig Kardon (USA)

New York Roster:            

Ulises Blanch                                  USA                                                 

Mardy Fish                                      USA                                                 

Kirsten Flipkens                              Belgium                                          

Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez         Spain                                               

Neal Skupski                                    England                                          

Coach: Luke Jensen (USA)

Each of WTT’s eight teams played 14 regular season matches in 2019 – seven home matches and seven away matches – for a league-wide total of 59 regular season matches. WTT introduced professional team tennis to the world in 1974, with Billie Jean King famously serving as its co-founder. WTT is one of five active U.S. pro sports leagues which has been in operation for over 40 years, along with the NFL, NBA, NHL and MLB. For more information on World TeamTennis, please visit www.wtt.com.