John McEnroe Tennis Academy
30th annual celebration will be held on Wednesday, Feb. 12 at New York Open
  | By Long Island Tennis Magazine Staff
The 30th annual USTA Long Island Region Awards Dinner will take place during the New York Open in 2020, as the best and brightest in tennis on Long Island will be honored on Wednesday, February 12 prior to the start of that night's evening session matches


The 30th annual USTA Long Island Region Awards Ceremony will take place during the New York Open, as the best and brightest in tennis on Long Island will be honored on Wednesday, February 12 prior to the start of that night's evening session matches.

By combining the annual awards ceremony with the New York Open, the evening will truly be a celebration of Long Island tennis. 

"The Long Island Regional Council wanted to do something special for our 30th Annual Awards. By teaming with the NY Open we can recognize our top Long Island volunteers and players and get to watch high level professional tennis with our family, friends, competitors and teammates," said Jonathan Klee, Regional Director for the USTA Eastern Long Island Region. "Winners will get to hear from and take pictures with touring professionals and be recognized on court between matches.  We are hoping this new format will be supported by the Long Island tennis community and make this our biggest and best awards ceremony to date."

Click Here to sign up for the 30th annual USTA Long Island Region Awards Ceremony

Congratulations to all the winners and honorees. Long Island Tennis Magazine will once again be producing the Award Dinner Journal for that night, and please contact if interested in taking out a congratulatory ad for one of the winners. 

Prestigious Awards

Hy Zausner Lifetime Achievement Award: Mark Harrison

Vitas Gerulaitis “For the Love of Tennis” Award: Al Zebroski

Arthur Ashe Multicultural Award: Hamlet Phillip

Rose Buck Scalamandre Tennis Family of the Year Award: the Goetz Family

Excellence Awards

Adult Volunteer of the Year: Dory Levinter

Charles Karp Memorial Award for Overcoming Adversity: Juan Pablo Perez, Aaron Stern and Joyce Gerard

Community Service Award: The Tennis King @ Roslyn Estates

Corporate/Retail/Press Service Award: Grand Slam Tennis

Good Samaritan Award: Juan Leon

Innovative Tennis Program of the Year: Serve & Return Foundation

Junior Team Tennis Award: Sharon Rappaport

Junior Volunteer of the Year: Ally Friedman

Madeline Zausner Junior Tournament Director Award: Clark Ruiz

Outdoor Tennis Site of the Year: Hempstead Lake State Park

Private Club of the Year: Old Field Tennis Club

10-and-Under Tennis Award: Butch Seewagen

Tennis Club of the Year: Carefree Racquet (Nassau) and Eastern Athletic Club (Suffolk)

Tennis Professional of the Year: Jay Harris

USTA School/Child Care Tennis Program: Heights Elementary School (Roslyn School District), KerriAnn Jannotte

LI High School Tennis Team of the Year: Massapequa High School Boys’ & Girls’ teams

Special Service Award: Peter Cesare


Sportsmanship Awards

Birdie Tarulli League Captain Sportsmanship Award: Angela O'Leary

Blane Magee League Captain Sportsmanship Award: Steve Subject

Anuj Agarwal Junior Sportsmanship Award: Christopher Qi

Jennifer Sherry Junior Sportsmanship Award: Cassandra Dinulescu


USTA League Awards

National Champions

18 & Over Mixed Doubles

10.0 Carefree: Ben Marks

Eastern Sectional Champions

18 & Over Men

3.0 Deer Park: Edward Sinn

3.5 Morley: Adam Moramarco


18 & Over Women

5.0 Syosset: Hali Katz & Meredith Steigman


40 & Over Men

3.0 Deer Park: Edward Sinn

4.5 Sportime Syosset: Andrew Ross


55 & Over Men

8.0 Morley: Sanjay Dutt & John Rau


65 & Over Men & Women

8.0 Roslyn Estates: Allan Silverstein

8.0 Sportime Syosset: Lydia Eitel


18 & Over Mixed Doubles

7.0 Point Set: Lori Sarnelli

9.0 Carefree: Paul Schnabel


40 & Over Mixed

9.0 Park Ave: Roslyn Chua-Mcalonie


2019-20 High School Champions

Nassau County Boy’s Singles: Kabir Rajpal (Syosset)

Nassau County Boy’s Doubles: Michael Weitz & Adrian Tsui (Roslyn)

Suffolk County Boy’s Singles: Alex Rzehak (Harborfields)

Suffolk County Boy’s Doubles: Michael Han & Albert Cheng (Half Hollow Hills East)

Nassau County Girls Singles: Merri Kelly Hannity (Cold Spring Harbor)

New York State & Nassau County Girls Doubles: Rachel Arbitman & Nyla Gershfeld (Hewlett)

Suffolk County Girls Singles: Rose Hayes (Westhampton)

Suffolk County Girls Doubles: Maddie Germano & Darienne Rogers (Islip)

Nassau County Coach of the Year: Mike Kazin (Great Neck North)

Suffolk County Coach of the Year: Keith Scharf (Bayport-Blue Point)


2020 Long Island Junior Champions (Long Island Rankings)

Boys 18s

1) Kabir Rajpal

2) Logan Chang

Boys 16s

1) Alexander Karman

2) Gabriele Brancatelli

Boys 14s

1) Stephen Gershfeld

2) Daniel Kong

Boys 12s

1) Sebastian Bielen

2) Jack Kennedy

Girls 18s

1) (#1 Eastern) Lina Mohamed

2) Rachel Arbitman

Girls 16s

1) (#1 Eastern) Emily Tannenbaum

2) Lina Mohamed

Girls 14s

1) (#1 Eastern) Thea Rabman

2) Taylor Goetz

Girls 12s

1) Sophia Holod

2) Lara Afolayanka


Adult Rankings

NTRP Rankings/Women

3.0 Singles:

LI #1 Kim Colucci

3.5 Singles:

Eastern #1 Kim Colucci

Eastern #2 Lisa Barshay

4.0 Singles:

Eastern #1 tie Laura Cassella and Tracy Gottlieb

4.5 Singles:

Eastern #1 Susan Bacey

Eastern #2 Tracy Gottlieb

4.5 Doubles:

Eastern #1 Susan Bacey & Maritoni Carlos


NTRP Rankings/Men

3.0 Singles:

LI #1 Cory English

LI #2 tie Ian Morrison & Jordan Klausner

3.5 Singles:

Eastern #1 James Avallone

LI #2 Ian Greenberg

4.0 Singles:

LI#1 Lucas Leston

LI #2 Malik Bass

4.5 Singles:

LI #1 Kian Ziari

LI #2 Malik Bass

4.0 Doubles:

Eastern #1 Zachary Conlon & Michael Schreiber


Eastern Section Rankings/Women


Open: Eastern #1 tie Alexa Graham and Elizabeth Kobak

30s: Eastern #1 Elizabeth Kobak

35s: LI #1 Kim Pflaumer

50s: LI #1 Caroline Garvey

60s: LI #1 Lydia Eitel


50s: LI #1 Kristin Brown & April Mongelli


Eastern Section Rankings/Men



LI #1 Mark Julian Baker

LI #2 McLane Green


LI #1 Vincent Horcasitas

LI #2 Rodolfo Novello


LI #1 (tie) Jordan Steinberg and Jeffrey Snow

40s: Eastern #1 Fayez Malik

45s: Eastern #1 Todd Ehren


LI #1 Jonathan Klein

LI #2 Jeffrey Snow


LI #1 Lawrence Kramer


LI #1 Rich Adler


LI #1 Douglas Barrow

LI #2 Mark Harrison


Eastern #1 Frank Ackley

LI #2 Bob Hoffman


50s: Eastern #1 Jeffrey Snow & Todd Ehren

65s: Eastern #1 David Brent & Mark Harrison